AVSL 2020-21 – Playoffs Preview

Key Battles

The AVSL Playoffs are upon us, with the final round form pitting several high-powered clubs head to head.

Premier Champions: Doncaster v Essendon v Box Hill

In the Premier Division Championship battle, Doncaster has brought a full-strength lineup, with the sprints and jumps combination of Alessia Wynne, Nicole Reynolds, Conrad Coumaros and Anthony Jordan. As Yuan Chow Lui puts in a shift across distance events.

Athletics Essendon brings a mixture of youth and experience to the weekend, with Maria Strong and Anna Kasapis leading young guns Aidan Roberts, Archie Noakes, Kevin Healy and Emily Portaro.

Box Hill present strong entries across the board, with talented heptathlete Rachel Limburg joined by the vaulting trio of Andre Di Medio, Lara Wittey and Sarah Melsom. Notably, Oliver Blackburn features in multiple field events, likely racking up a swathe of points.

Premier Division/Div 2 Playoff: Western A’s v Collingwood

In an all-important playoff battle, Western A’s will look to save their Premier spot against Collingwood – entering sprint duo Brayden Portelli and Frankleen Newah-Jarfoi. Collingwood’s junior distance guns Wolfgang Cotra-Nemesi and Joshua Tram are entered in multiple events, as is sprint sensation Chiara Santgilia. 

Division 2 Champions: Chilwell v Eaglehawk

Athletics Chilwell look to have the upper hand in the championship battle, with the likes of Liam Mullen and Skye Ellis likely to accrue substantial points on the track and in the jumps pit.

Division 2/Div 3 Playoff: Eureka v Wendouree (The Battle of Ballarat)

Coined ‘The Battle of Ballarat’ – Eureka has brought down a spread of event specialists, including Isaac Rossato, Amy Canavan, Manofo Ropeti and Caytlyn Sharp. Flying the Wendouree flag is the talented duo of Madison Wright and Taj Collier. The winner will compete in Division 2 next season.

Division 3 Champions: Bendigo v Wyndham

The competition for the Division 3 title appears all but sewn up, as Wyndham’s overwhelming entry numbers may topple Bendigo.

Division 3/Div 4 Playoff: Preston v Dandenong-Springvale  

Preston’s Donna-Elms will lead the team in the throws department, as Dandenong-Springvale’s Luke Baker looks set to collect valuable points.

Division 4 Champions: Corio v Malvern Waverley

The Division 4 title hangs in the balance, as Corio employ the multi-sprint and multi-throw antics of Jacob Sesar and Darcy Giddings, whilst Malvern Waverley enters with solid numbers – club stalwart Craig Sanford a man on a points-based mission.

Division 4/Div 5 Playoff: Old Scotch v Williamstown

Old Scotch presents a youthful side, as high school cross country team turned middle distance threats Rob Barber and Tom Worsteling lead a club amid a resurgence. Williamstown’s Ashlee Farrar and Erika Gosney look set to feature prominently in the divisional fight for survival.

Division 5 Champions: Athletics South West v Old Melbournians

Division 5 debutante’s turned possible champions – Athletics South West’s middle-distance find Emily Morden has several events for the day, as multi-eventer Jesse Suter makes the trip down. Club President and younger-years New Zealand representative sprinter Jeremy Dixon has strapped the spikes back on and may set the track ablaze – hamstring health permitting.

Old Melbournian’s bring in sprint and jumps talent in the form of Sienna Farrell and Ryan Tarrant.