2020 Victorian Officials Awards

The first ever Victorian Officials Virtual Awards function was celebrated on Friday 25 September with the theme being “Celebrating 20 years since the 2000 Sydney Olympic and Paralympic Games”  Guest speaker Anne Lord was very entertaining speaking about her experiences and the behind the scenes involvement of the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games.    Great time had by all those that joined in and it was wonderful to see Officials dressed up in their Sydney Olympic uniforms.

During the evening, our service badges were awarded to recognize the efforts of our Officials.  Congratulations to the following on outstanding years of Officiating

  • 10 Years & AA Bronze – Russell Harper, Lincoln Mah, Josh Savage, Stuart Schnaars
  • 15 Years – Heather Lamb
  • 20 Years & AA Silver – Lynn Owen
  • 30 Years & AA Gold – Marion Sparkes & Pauline Zuccolin
  • 35 Years – Helen Rieniets & Lynne Wolowiec
  • 40 Years & AA Platinum – Richard Lawysz & Hugh McKechnie
  • 50 Years – Margaret Dunbar & Laurie Preston

An important part of this event is to announce and present our awards for the past season. Each Region and Zone submits through nominations for the outstanding Officials from their area and a sub Committee selects the worthy winners. 

Congratulations to the winners from the following Zones and Regions:

Bendigo Region: Craig Graham
Western Country: Julie Bicknell
White Zone: Yvonne Glover
Geelong Region: Heather Holzer
Blue Zone: Maureen Austin
Red Zone: Ian Fisher
Yellow Zone: Neil Lawson

The highlight of the evening was the major awards of Official of the Year and Rising Star award.

The Official of the Year is awarded to an Official who has made an outstanding contribution in Athletics officiating over the past season. The award is only given to Officials who have dedicated significant time and effort and is the Victorian Officials Committee’s way of recognizing this.

The Official of the Year was awarded to Ronda Jenkins

The Rising Star award is presented to an Official who, in the Victorian Officials selection Committee’s opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to the sport in their early years of officiating.

The Rising Star award was presented to Jenny Baird

Congratulations to all our award winners, very truly deserved.