Australian Marathon Championships – Victorian Team

For the first time since 2014, the Australian Marathon Championships returns to the Gold Coast on Sunday 4th July with Victoria sending a very strong line up to contest the title. With three teams titles apiece for our Men’s and Women’s squads since 2010, Team Vic will be looking to add to this tally lead by Team Captains Karinna Fyfe and Andrew Buchanan respectively. 

Debuting over the Marathon distance, Madeline Heiner and Tamara Quinn add significant depth to the Women’s team with their Half Marathon performances indicating they will be strong contenders for a podium finish. Victoria’s men’s squad is an experienced one featuring a number of runners who have medaled at National and State level in distance events. Australian Ultra running representative Dion Finocchiaro ‘steps down’ in distance for this event, looking to record his first sub 2:20 performance on the Gold Coast’s notoriously fast roads.

New South Wales will once again provide strong opposition for Team Vic, however, the current outbreaks in metropolitan Sydney may impact the ability of some athletes to travel.

Victoria’s recent history at the Australian Marathon Championships

Women’s Individual Champions

2014 – Tarli Bird (GHY)
2016 – Virginia Moloney (COL)
2017 – Makda Harun Haji (ESS)

Men’s Individual Champions

2015 – Robert Pope (WES)
2017 – Jai Edmonds (COL)

Women’s Team Titles – 2010, 2016, 2017

Men’s Team Titles – 2010, 2011, 2012

To follow all the action on the Gold Coast go to https://goldcoastmarathon.com.au/

Women’s Victorian Team

Karinna Fyfe (GHY)
Madeline Heiner (MUU)
Tamara Quinn (SSH)
Kate Mason (FKN)
Julie-Ann Undrill (COL)
Cara Foot (COL)

Men’s Victorian Team

Andrew Buchanan (BEU)
Dion Finocchiaro (GHY)
Jamie Cook (BEN)
Dane Verwey (FKN)
Chris Rancie (DIV)
Zac Newman (MUU)