Athletics Victoria Officials Awards 2021-22

Last Sunday, Athletics Victoria welcomed a return of face-to-face celebrations, hosting the 2021-22 Victorian Officials Function in the Cathy Freeman Room at Lakeside Stadium. The theme for this edition was the celebration of the upcoming Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The Victorian Officials Function offers the opportunity to celebrate and congratulate the time and effort Officials make in ensuring the success of athletics. As a sign of recognition, AV presents service badges to those Officials who have dedicated their time over the years.

  • 5 Years – Abby Bicknell, Brenton Hall, Bronwyn Meaden, Cindy McDougall, David Hansford, Heather Holzer, Jessica Newton, Jorja Sharp, Thanuj Kumar

  • 10 Years & AA Bronze – Caitlin Christie, Geoff Marshman, Greg Simpson, Jane Lacock, Julie Bicknell, Michelle Hawkes, Shane Bicknell, Shane Dickson, Wolf Heiden

  • 15 Years – Brenda Felton, David Armstrong, Gary Mahon, Martyn Kibel Neil Lawson, Peter Price, Ralph Bennett, Terry Hicks, Terry Swan

  • 20 Years & AA Silver – Jeff Hughes, Lou Mirarchi, Louise Roberts, Matthew Webster

  • 25 Years – Mary McDonald

  • 30 Years & AA Gold – Yvonne Glover

  • 35 Years – Peter Vysma

  • 40 Years & AA Platinum – Carolyn Rosenbrock, Doreen Giannini, Ian Carmichael, Kevin Wigmore, Lindsay Beaton, Peter Barrett

  • 45 Years – Ellen Perry, Ian Rickard

  • 55 Years – Ron Stobaus

During the 2021 – 2022 AVSL summer season, AV introduced Zone changes across Metro venues. These changes included the removal of the four Zones, previously known as Red, Yellow, Blue and White, and the introduction of a consolidated two-Zone structure, Zone A and Zone B.

As part of the AV award process, Regions / Zones submit nominations for outstanding Officials in their area, with a sub-Committee selecting the deserving winners.

Also presented are the two major awards of the day, the Official of the Year and the Rising Star award.

The Official of the Year is awarded to an Official who has made an outstanding contribution to Athletics officiating over the past season.

The 2021-22 Official of the Year is Bob Hallett.

Athletics Victoria presents the Rising Star award to an Official who, in the Victorian Officials selection Committee’s opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to the sport in their early years of officiating

The 2021-22 Rising Star is Thomas Mogensen.

Congratulations to all our deserved award winners.