2019 Victorian Officials Awards

The Victorian Officials Awards function was celebrated on Sunday 5 May in the Cathy Freeman room at Lakeside and this year our theme was “An Un Birthday party”.



During the day our service badges were awarded to recognise the efforts of our Officials. Congratulations to the following on outstanding years of Officiating:

30 years – Ian Fisher & Jill Wallis

35 years – Don Blyth

40 years – Ronda Jenkins & Pam Noden

45 years – Brendan Ferrari



An important part of this event is to announce and present our awards for the past season. Each Region and Zone submits through nominations for the outstanding Officials from their area and a sub Committee selects the worthy winners.

Congratulations to the winners from the following Zones and Regions:

Red Zone: David Armstrong

Blue Zone: Brenton Hall

Yellow Zone: Neil Lawson

White Zone: Michael Brazel

Ballarat Region: Alastair Dowie

Bendigo Region: Sam Graham

Geelong Region: Alison Reed

Western Country Region: Julie Bicknell

Southern Metro Region: Jason Whittle

Northern Metro Region: Jamie Gray

Western Metro Region: Rob DeWit

Gippsland Country Region: Ben Cruikshank

Eastern Metro Region: Graeme Scott



The highlight of the day was the major awards of Official of the Year and Rising Star award.

The Official of the Year is awarded to an Official who has made an outstanding contribution in Athletics officiating over the past season. The award is only given to Officials who have dedicated significant time and effort and is the Victorian Officials Committee’s way of recognising this.

The Official of the Year was awarded to Sarah Davis



The Rising Star award is presented to an Official who, in the Victorian Officials selection Committee’s opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to the sport in their early years of officiating.

The Rising Star award was presented to David Hansford



Congratulations to all our award winners, very truly deserved.