Victorian Officials Awards Function

The Victorian Officials Awards function was celebrated on Sunday 20 May in the Cathy Freeman room at Lakeside and this year our theme was “AFL Footy”.

During the day our service badges were awarded to recognize the efforts of our Officials.  Congratulations to the following on outstanding years of Officiating

30 years – Peter Dunn and Gwen Timmins

35 years – Aileen Zanelli

40 yearsLorraine Smith, Jenny and Terry Harris

A special mention to Brian Moore who has been an Official now for 55 years.  A tremendous effort indeed.

An important part of this event is to announce and present our awards for the past season. Each Region and Zone submits through nominations for the outstanding Officials from their area and a sub Committee selects the worthy winners.


Congratulations to the winners from the following Zones and Regions:

Red Zone: Ian Fisher

Blue Zone: Lyn Owen

Yellow Zone: Ian Upton

White Zone: Carolyn Rosenbrock

Ballarat Region: Stephen McLennan

Bendigo Region: Peter Savage

Geelong Region: Heather Holzer

Western Country Region: Julie Bicknell

Southern Metro Region: Nicole Lopes

Northern Metro Region: George Pecchiar

Western Metro Region: David Young

Gippsland Country Region: Raymond Slade

Northern Country Region: Margaret Carty

Eastern Metro Region: Steve Taylor

The highlight of the day was the major awards of Official of the Year and Rookie of the Year.

The Official of the Year is awarded to an Official who has made an outstanding contribution in Athletics officiating over the past season. The award is only given to Officials who have dedicated significant time and effort and is the Victorian Officials Committee’s way of recognizing this.

The Official of the Year was awarded to Stuart Schnaars.

The Rising Star award is presented to an Official who, in the Victorian Officials selection Committee’s opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to the sport in their early years of officiating.

The Rising Star award was presented to Lance Kamau.

Congratulations to all our award winners, very truly deserved.