XCR Schools – Albert Park Road Relays – Wrap

To say we’ve been lucky with the weather so far during the XCR Schools season would be an understatement!

On Saturday (20th May) Albert Park played host to what is generally regarded as one of the fastest ‘cross country’ courses in Victoria. Schools from across the state descended on Formula 1 heartland with determination and hunger to be crowned 2017 Road Relay Champions.

The first event of the day was the Girl’s U14 / U16 and Boy’s U14 /U16 – 4 x 2km relay.  Ruyton Girls’ Schools team #1 (Aisha Kasaby, Lottie Calhaem, Ruby Schultz and Dee Dee Deng) were a cut above the rest, finishing just ahead of Wesley College (2nd place – 34:14) with a time of 00:34:03. In the U16 Division, it was Maribyrnong College who just managed to edge out Wesley College, in what was very tight contest throughout the whole race. Yara Taylor finished with the fastest time for the morning, crossing the line in 7:59, with her teammates Bianca Puglisi, Georgia Muller and Janae Mackrell all posting exceptional times as well. the Boy’s U14 Division saw Haileybury College team #1 featuring Tom Wilcock, Charlie Rogers, Xavier Scott and Declan Mankoita, take out the top prize with a time of 31:02. Kunyung Primary School weren’t far off, fishing just over a minute behind with a time of 32:09. Up an age group, and it was Haileybury College (Romin Kodikara, Harrison Scott, Sam Bunnage and Nikolaj Djordevic) who again (by the smallest of margins) secured first position with a time of 28:30. Peninsula Grammar were only 8 seconds behind!

The second event of the day was the Girl’s U18 / U20 and Boy’s U18 / U20 – 4 x 3km relay. Wesley College were again dominant throughout the whole race, snatching gold from Sacre Coeur with a time of 43:47. Sophie O’Sullivan who ran anchor, finished with the fastest time for her age group in 10:36. Her teammates Meg Oakley-Kerr (10:43) and Tea Wittey ( 10:50) both cracked the 11 minute mark as well, with Juliet McBerney finishing in 11:38. Up in the U20 Division, it was Methodist Ladies’ College (Holly Hart, Louise Ton, Christienne Ashton and Amy Riuse) who were far too strong, crossing the line 3 minutes ahead of their rivals in Caulfield Grammar. Over in the Boy’s U18 Division saw Wesley College back on the winners podium, after showing a solid display of running, with Kang Nyoak leading the charge with a time of 8:41, and his teammates Seamus Graham, Ed Marks and Adam Spencer all posting quality times. However, it was James Lightfoot (Carey Grammar) who posted the fastest 3km for the morning (including the U20 Division) with a time of 8:36. Peninsula Grammar have always been solid when it comes to athletics, and on Saturday it was no different with their U20 team narrowly beating Trinity Grammar by only 5 seconds. Jessie Dunsmore, Dylan Burrows, Lackie Enno and James Paton all put in brilliant performances, with Jessie posting the quickest time in 8:45.

A huge congratulations to all schools who competed on the day. The atmosphere was electric, and the racing was at an all time high. We can’t wait to see everyone at the Victorian All Schools Cross Country Championships out at Bundoora on Saturday 17th June.

For a list of full results click here.