Victorian Officials Awards Function – 2017

The Victorian Officials Awards function was celebrated on Sunday (30th April) in the Cathy Freeman room at Lakeside.  The luncheon had the theme of “Countries of the Commonwealth’ as a lead up to the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games next April – 2018.

Service badges were awarded throughout the day in recognition of the efforts from our Officials. Congratulations to the following on outstanding years of Officiating:

  • 30 years – Peter Vysma
  • 35 years – Lindsay Beaton, Doreen Giannini, Ronda Jenkins, Kevin Wigmore and Irene Harris
  • 40 years – May Burling, Ellen Perry and Ian Rickard
  • 50 years – Ron Stobaus

A special mention to Arthur Whitchell who has been an Official for 60 years.  A tremendous effort indeed.

An important aspect of this event is to announce/present our awards for the past season. Each Region and Zone was asked to submit their nominations for Outstanding Officials from their area. As such a sub Committee was formed to select the worthy winners.

Congratulations to the following recipients from each Zone and Region:

Red Zone:                                           Allan Watson
Blue Zone:                                          Stuart Merrick
Yellow Zone:                                     Doreen Giannini
White Zone:                                      Peter Westwood
Ballarat Region:                                Marita Rieniets
Bendigo Region:                               Wolf Heiden
Geelong Region:                               Geoff Marshman
Western Country Region:              Jenny Evans
Southern Metro Region:                Mark Henry
Northern Metro Region:                Jamie Grey
Western Metro Region:                 Jim Baskin
Gippsland Country Region:           Steve Woolfe
Northern Country Region:           Aileen Zanelli
Eastern Metro Region:                   Irene Harris

The highlight of the day was the Official of the Year and Rookie of the Year award.

The Official of the Year is awarded to an Official who has made an outstanding contribution in athletics-officiating over the past season. The award is only given to Officials who have dedicated significant time and effort.

The Official of the Year was awarded to Pam Noden

(Pam was on babysitting duties on the day so was not in attendance – the award will be presented to Pam at XCR Rd 2 – Wandin Park on Saturday 13 May)

The Rising Star award is presented to an Official who, in the Victorian Officials Selection Committee’s opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to the sport in their early years of officiating. This year’s recipient has shown great enthusiasm in officiating at several State and National levels.

The Rising Star award was presented to Tina Miller

Written by Andrea Hallett