Victorian Officials Awards

The Victorian Officials Awards function was celebrated on Sunday 24 July in the Cathy Freeman room at Lakeside. The theme on the night was ‘Let’s Celebrate Rio’ to coincide with the Olympic Games which kick off in just two weeks’ time, and we’re sure all those in attendance had a great afternoon!

During the day our service badges were awarded to recognize the efforts of our Officials. Congratulations to the following on outstanding years of Officiating:

30 years – Gordon Loughnan and Jim Cain.
40 years – Tony Williams and Di Lowden
45 years – Paul Jenes and Lorrain Morgan

A special mention to Marion Patterson who has been an Official now for 60 years – a tremendous effort indeed.

An important aspect of this event is to announce and present awards for the past season. Each Region and Zone were asked to submit their nominations for the outstanding Officials from their area.

Congratulations to the winners from the following Zones and Regions:

Red Zone: David Armstrong
Blue Zone: Pam Noden
Yellow Zone: Brendan Ferrari
White Zone: Yvonne Glover
Ballarat Region: Stephen McLennan
Bendigo Region: Garnet Rodda
Geelong Region: Lou Mirarchi
Western Country Region: Julie Bicknell
Southern Metro Region: Pam Carroll
Northern Metro Region: Phil Atkins
Western Metro Region: Wayne O’Halloran
Gippsland Country Region: Justyne Roscoe
Eastern Metro Region: Jon Seddon

The Official of the Year is awarded to an Official who has made an outstanding contribution to Athletics over the past season. The award is only given to an Official who has dedicated significant time and effort.

The Official of the Year was awarded to Andrea Hallett.

Vern Curnow was also awarded 50 years Membership Service award.

Congratulations to all of our award winners – all were truly deserved!