Victorian Officials Awards / Rewards Function

The Victorian Officials Awards / Rewards function was celebrated Sunday 5 July in the Cathy Freeman room.  This special thank you luncheon for our Officials had the festive theme of ‘Christmas in July’ and all those in attendance certainly had a wonderful time.


An important part of this event is to announce and present our awards for the past season. Each Region and Zone was asked to submit their nominations for the outstanding Officials from their area and a sub Committee formed to select the worthy winners.

Congratulations to the winners from the following Zones and Regions:

Red Zone:                                                           Martyn Kibel

Blue Zone:                                                          Michael Lindstrom

Yellow Zone:                                                     Peter Dunn

White Zone:                                                      Les Burgess

Ballarat Region:                                                Christine Christie

Bendigo Region:                                              Peter Hayes

Geelong Region:                                              Sally Hockey

Western Country Region:                            Fiona Werner

Southern Metro Region:                              Colin Segota

Northern Country Region:                           Aileen Zanelli

Northern Metro Region:                              Sam Barbuto

Western Metro Region:                               Leanne Ryan

Gippsland Country Region:                      Mark Jouvelet

Eastern Metro Region:                              Stephen Hough


Stephen Hough – EMR


Leanne Ryan – WMR


Martyn Kibel – Red Zone


Christine Christie – Ballarat Region


Aileen Zanelli – NCR

The highlight of the day was the major awards of Male / Female Official of the Year along with the Rookie of the Year.

The Rookie award is made to the Official who, in the Victorian Officials selection Committee opinion, has made an outstanding contribution to the sport in their early years of officiating.

This year’s recipient has shown great enthusiasm in officiating at a number of levels at both State and national levels.

Male Rookie – Colin Segota


The Official of the year is awarded to two Officials who have made an outstanding contribution to Athletics through officiating in this state.  They are designated Male and Female Official of the year.  The award is only given to Officials who have given a significant amount of time to officiating and the award is the Victorian Officials Committee’s way of recognizing this

The Female Official of the Year was awarded to Sally Hockey

The Male Official of the Year was awarded to Michael Lindstrom

Congratulations to all of our award winners, very truly deserved.




Christine Christie – Ballarat Region, Michael Lindstrom – Blue Zone and Official of the Year, Sally Hockey – Geelong Region and Official of the Year  and Martyn Kibel – Red Zone.

Service badges are awarded every 5 years to recognize the efforts of our officials..

Congratulations to the following Officials who reached various milestones in their Officiating careers in the past year.

5 YEARS :      Rachel Kelly, Greg Puls, Josh Savage, Stuart Schnaars, Terry Swan, Lincoln Mah, Jim Stevens,

10 YEARS :              Shane Bertrand, Kim John, Nicole Lopes, Michael Wallace

15 YEARS :              Lyn Owen, Anula Costa

20 YEARS :              Sandy Lewis, Ian Morehouse. David Green – Kyabram

25 YEARS :              Laurel Puls, Carolyn Scott, Marion Sparkes

30 YEARS :    Lynne Wolowiec, Gordon Major, Robert Van Der Wilk

35 YEARS :    Lawrie Barnett, Ivan Harding, Richard Lawysz, Hugh McKechnie.

45 YEARS :    Margaret Dunbar, Laurie Preston

Rachel Kelly –  5 Years, Lawrie Barnett – 35 Years, Carolyn Scott & Marion Sparkes  – 25 Years


The updating of the Service Awards is still a work in progress and will continue working on this throughout the year.  For those that still need to complete this task please send to Sally Koenitz –

Congratulations also to Phil Atkins who was awarded the LAVic Official of the Year award at the LAVic Gala Dinner on Saturday 15 August during the Centre fest weekend at Bendigo.