Eugene calling for 18 junior Victorian athletes

The countdown is on for 18 Victorian junior athletes who today have been announced by Athletics Australia to represent the Australian Spark at the IAAF World Junior Championships in Eugene, USA from 22 – 27 July 2014.

The 18 Victorians will be involved in Australia’s largest ever traveling junior team, with 61 of Australia’s best young athletes selected to compete in the 15th edition of the biennial international event.

Well represented across the various disciplines Victoria’s women sprint contingent of Athletics Nunawading’s Hana Basic, Diamond Valley’s Maddie Coates, South Bendigo Athletics Emily Lawson, Williamstown’s Daniela Roman and Box Hill Athletics Georgia Griffith were stand outs at this month’s Australian Junior Athletics Championships in Sydney.

All five produced personal bests and first time world junior qualification standards when it mattered to earn selection to the Australian team heading to Eugene in less than 120 days.

“Thriving off the Big V’s team success in Sydney it was great to see so many personal bests and outstanding performances help secure spots for 18 of our athletes on the Australian team for the world junior championships,” Athletics Victoria Development Manager Nick Wall said.

“All the athletes went to the Australian Junior Championships well prepared by their personal coaches and support teams and produced the results when they mattered most,” Wall said.

The weather may have extended the wait for Sandringham’s Henry Smith to confirm his automatic selection after the men’s and women’s long jump selection trials were postponed to last weekend’s IAAF Melbourne World Challenge due to inclement weather in Sydney during the Australian Junior Athletics Champions but Smith’s jump of 7.64m wasn’t bettered in Melbourne ensuring his spot on the Australian Sparks team.

Knox middle distance runner Zak Patterson secured a world junior qualifying standard in the 1500m at the Briggs Athletics Classic in February but got just reward for his outstanding win at the selection trials in Sydney earlier this month with automatic selection.

Coburg’s Luke Matthews secured a world junior qualifying standard early in the season at last year’s APS final with a time of 1:48.83 and with his second qualifying standard and win at the Australia Junior Athletics Championships will be one two athletes to represent Australia in the men’s 800m.

South Coast high jump sensation Eleanor Patterson has decided to nominate for the Commonwealth Games taking place in Glasgow, Scotland from 23 July to 3 August 2014.

Victoria’s strength in the walks will be evident with Tayla-Paige Billington, Nathan Brill, and Jesse Osborne of Box Hill Athletics Club set to compete in the 10,000m race walk event.

Osborne and Brill will also join Maccabi race walker Jemima Montag for the girl’s and boy’s junior 10km road walks at the IAAF Race Walking Cup in Taicang China on 3 – 4 May 2014.

Athletics Victoria congratulates all athletes who secured spots on the Australian Spark team for the IAAF World Junior Championships later this year.

Full list of Victorian Australian Spark representatives:







Hana Basic

Athletics Nunawading

Wayne James


Maddie Coates

Diamond Valley

Scott Rowsell


Emily Lawson

South Bendigo

Peter Barrett


Georgia Griffith

Box Hill

Stephen Ellinghaus


Samantha Prime

Casey Cardinia

Richard Huggins


Courtney Powell


Nicky Frey

100m hurdles

Daniela Roman



3000m steeplechase

Stella Radford

Coburg Harriers

Nicky Frey

10,000m walk

Tayla-Paige Billington

Box Hill

Jenni Billington

4x100m relay

Hana Basic, Daniela Roman, Brittany Burkitt

Diamond Valley

Chris Brennan

4x400m relay

Emily Lawson









Sam Reiser


Bruce Scriven


Luke Matthews


Elizabeth Matthews


Zak Patterson


Richard Huggins

110m hurdles:

Matthew De Bruin

Casey Cardinia

Wayne DeBruin

10,000m walk:

Nathan Brill, Jesse Osborne

Box Hill


Craig Brill

Simon Baker

High jump:

Joel Baden

Old Melburnians

Sandro Bisetto

Long jump:

Henry Smith


Cathy Woodruff

4x400m relay:

Sam Reiser



For the full list of Australia Spark athletes selected for the IAAF Junior World Championships click here.