Basic brilliance on day four at the Australian junior championships

Nunawading sprinter Hana Basic (11.64) delivered a personal best run in the women’s under 20 100m final to claim a world junior qualifier at the Australian Junior Athletics Championships on day four.

Basic was all smiles as she secured automatic selection to the IAAF World Junior Championships later this year in the US after clocking a new meet record.

After running 12.07 at the Victorian Open Championships earlier this month Basic shot out blocks and went clear within 20 metres and there was no chance of her being caught in near perfect conditions for the sprinters at Sydney Olympic Park.

Williamstown athlete Daniela Roman added a second world junior qualifying standard to her name, finishing third behind Basic in 11.72.

Essendon sprinter James Hogg produced a strong performance to win the men’s under 16 200m final in 22.23 ahead of Alec Nguyen of New South Wales and fellow Victorian Benjamin Closter finishing third in 22.72.

Collingwood’s Ace Buck was all class in the men’s under 14 800m winning two seconds clear of Luke Young from New South Wales in a time of 2:08.85.

Once again Victoria’s hurdlers produced the goods on day four with Greta Miller (200mH – under 16) and Lachlan Lamb (200mH – Under 15) claiming gold.

Williamstown jumper Celeste Mucci took out the women’s under 16 long jump with a distance of 5.49m on her final attempt to defeat New South Wales Jamsmine Fotas who managed a 5.46m on her final jump.

As the rain and storms loomed over Sydney Olympic Park Stella Radford clinched a third world junior qualifying time and booked herself automatic qualification for the world junior championships after taking the national women’s under 20 crown in 10:26.72

Day four action was cut short due to extreme weather and a number of events will be carried over to tomorrows session.

Julia Bourke – Women Shot Put Under 17
Andrew McGrath – Men 400m Hurdles Under 17
Celeste Mucci – Women Long Jump Under 16
Rhys Rigoni – Men Pole Vault Under 14
Hana Basic – Women 100m Under 20
James Hogg – Men 200m Under 16
Ace Buck – Men 800m Under 14
Greta Miller – Women 200m Hurdles Under 16
Lachlan Lamb – Men 200m Hurdles Under 15
Stella Radford – Women 3000m Steeplechase Under 20

Harrison Kimpton-Moss – Men 400m Hurdles Under 17
Johnathan Burns – Men Pole Vault Under 14
Paige Greco (T37) – Women 100m Ambulant Para Under 20
Nana Adoma Owusu-Afriy – Women 200m Under 16
Jordan Munyard – Men 200m Under 15
Caitlin Hawks – Women 400m Hurdles Under 20
Lateisha Willis – Women 200m Hurdles Under 15
Nicole Reynolds – Women 200m Hurdles Under 16

Michael Cann – Men Triple Jump Under 17
Matthew Harcourt – Men 400m Hurdles Under 17
Daniel Masini – Men Pole Vault Under 14

Tessa Consedine – Women 400m Hurdles Under 20
Alex Di Medio – Men 400m Hurdles Under 20
Kara Olsen – Women 200m Hurdles Under 16
Emerson Shiel – Men 200m Hurdles Under 16
Daniela Roman – Women 100m Under 20
Benjamin Closter – Men 200m Under 16