2014/15 Victorian champs and schools dates confirmed

Athletics Victoria is close to completing its 2014/15 summer calendar and can today confirm the dates for the Schools and Victorian Championships events.

“We have undergone an extensive process with feedback from athletes, clubs and key stakeholders to provide a clear pathway for athletes and believe the calendar structure for the 2014/15 season will best position athletes for state and national level competition while ensuring participation at club level is also maximised,” Competitions Manager Ross Cunningham said.

Victorian championships events:

Event Date Location
Victorian State 5km Championships Thursday 6 November 2014 Albert Park
Victorian Relay Championships Saturday 29 November 2014 Albert Park
Zatopek:10 2014 Thursday 11 December 2014 Albert Park
Victorian Country Championships Fri 23 – Sun 25 January 2015 Bendigo
Victorian Junior State Championships Fri 13 – Sun 15 February 2015 Albert Park
Victorian Open Championships Fri 27 Feb – Sun 1 March 2015 Albert Park
Victorian Open, U20, U18, U16, U14 Multi Championships Sat 28 Feb – Sun 1 March 2015 Albert Park
Victorian Masters Championships Sat 14 – Sun 15 March 2015 Doncaster (TBC)

Victorian schools events:

Event Date Location
Victorian All Schools Track Relays Wednesday 3 September 2014 Albert Park
Victorian All Schools Knockout Thursday 11 September 2014 Albert Park
Victorian All Schools Championships Fri 7 – Sun 9 November 2014 Albert Park

Details relating to the AV summer season fixtures will be released in the coming weeks with a number of exciting new concepts to be included in the 2014/15 calendar.

“There are some new ideas we will look to implement, especially around how we deliver the specialist competition programs, with all to be revealed soon, said Cunningham.

“It’s an exciting time for athletes in Victoria with the development of a calendar that is structured to provide them with the best opportunity to compete and produce strong results when it matters”, Cunningham added.